Mayor Walsh appoints the members of the Boston Private Industry Council, which serves as Boston’s Workforce Development Board and includes prominent business, education, government, labor, and community leaders. The Council elects a Board of Directors, which sets the strategic direction for the PIC and serves as the executive committee of the Workforce Development Board.

Boston's Workforce Development Board

Board of Directors

Kenneth C. Montgomery, First Vice President and COO
Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Treasurer & Finance Chair
Donna C. Cupelo, Region President

Joseph E. Aoun, President
Northeastern University

Tommy Chang, Superintendent
Boston Public Schools

Pam Y. Eddinger, President
Bunker Hill Community College

Jeffrey M. Leiden, Chairman, CEO and President
Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Valerie R. Roberson, President
Roxbury Community College

George E. Sullivan, Executive Vice President
State Street Corporation

Steven A. Tolman, President
Massachusetts AFL-CIO

Additional Members of Council

Bing Broderick, Executive Director
Haley House Bakery Cafe

Christine Carmody, Senior Vice President, Human Resources
Eversource Energy

Dan Carton, Director, Human Resources
Tufts Medical Center

Harneen Chernow, Director
1199SEIU Training & Upgrading Fund

Roxann Cooke, Senior Vice President and Regional Manager
Eastern Bank

Marie Downey, Executive Director
Boston Education, Skills & Training (BEST) Corp.

John Drew, President and Chief Executive Officer
Action for Boston Community Development

Toni Elka, Executive Director and Founder
Future Chefs

Tracey Flaherty, Senior Vice President, Government Relations
Natixis Global Asset Management

Sophia Holder, Vice President of Finance
Boston Children’s Hospital

Greg Janey, President
Janey Construction Management and Consulting

Michael Jorgensen, General Manager
The Westin Boston Waterfront

Denise Korn, President and CEO
Korn Design

Darlene Lombos, Executive Director
Community Labor United

Wanda McClain, Vice President, Community Health and Health Equity
Brigham and Women's Hospital

William McGonagle, Administrator
Boston Housing Authority

Alexandra Oliver-Dávila, Executive Director
Sociedad Latina

Zorica Pantić, President
Wentworth Institute of Technology

John Pepper, CEO & Co-Founder

Joan Phillips, Assistant Commissioner
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission

Joanne Pokaski, Director of Workforce Development
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

James Rooney, President & CEO
Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Emily Shea, Commissioner, Elderly Affairs
City of Boston

Steven Tompkins, Sheriff
Suffolk County

James Whalen, Senior Vice President and CIO
Boston Properties

Marina Zhavoronkova, Assistant Secretary
Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development

For more information, please contact Emily Kahn, Chief of Staff, at emily.kahn@bostonpic.org or 617-488-1303.